>Senate Passes Stimulus Bill

>In my predictions for 2009, I said, “Olympia Snowe will break with Republicans to enable Obama to pass a major piece of his legislative agenda.” It didn’t take long to get that one right. Since I was wrong about Blagojevich, I am now 1 for 2 in my predictions.

Besides Snowe, Susan Collins (ME) and Arlen Specter (PA) were the only other Republicans to vote for the bill.

In the next step, a conference committee will be formed of members from both houses, both parties. Their job will be to reconcile the House and Senate versions of the bill. Since the Senate vote was more narrow than in the House, I predict that the final bill will be closer to the Senate’s version than the House’s.

One Response to >Senate Passes Stimulus Bill

  1. Mel says:

    >While not surprised at the 3 that voted on this I am still just amazed that they believed this was the right thing to do.

Leave a comment